top of page
  • Writer's pictureCramer & Del George

The Hans Christian Andersen Award Winners for 2020

Every other year, the International Board on Books for Young People (IBBY) honors an author and an illustrator with the Hans Christian Andersen Award. According to IBBY, the awards “recognize lifelong achievement and are presented to an author and an illustrator whose complete works have made an important, lasting contribution to children's literature.

The 2020 author award goes to Jacqueline Woodson from the United States. As noted by the IBBY jury, “Her thirty-three books and thirteen short stories range in subjects from foster care to interracial relationships, from drug abuse to the witness protection programme, but all share the common features of lyrical language, powerful characters, and an abiding sense of hope.”

The award for illustrator was given to Albertine from Switzerland. The jury praised her work, saying,”Her drawings are lively and full of humour using a very fine line (pencil or Rotring) and often bright and cheerful colours (gouache or digital). Her natural spontaneity appears throughout her works, with a sense of detail and an infinite precision, as well as a sense of humour.”

63 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All


bottom of page